Kung Fu Forms

‘Empty Hand’ (Kuen) Forms

Gung Gee Fook Fu Kuen  (Subduing the tiger in an ‘I’ pattern). Traditionally, the “Gung Gee” is the first Hung Ga form taught. This foundational form teaches the basic stances and techniques of the five animals and the five elements. The form helps develop stamina, endurance, flexibility and sets the base for the next forms in the Hung Ga style.

Fu Hok Seurng Ying Kuen (Tiger Crane Double Pattern Form). This is the most famous form of Hung Ga and is the core of the Hung Ga system. The Tiger Crane (Fu Hok) form introduces fighting technique and stresses the development of the Tiger and Crane styles. The Tiger style develops fighting spirit, fierceness and Hard Power (Gong Ging), while the Crane style develops Soft Whipping Power (Bien Ging).

Ng Ying Kuen  (Five Animals Form). This form teaches the techniques of the five animals and five elements (Tiger/Fire, Crane/Wood, Snake/Water, Dragon/Earth, Leopard/Metal). The Tiger form instills fierceness of spirit, develops clawing techniques and strengthens the bones and tendons. The Crane form teaches grace, control, balance and trains the sinews. The Snake form trains the fingers, promotes Qi circulation, control and teaches strikes to the vital points of the body. The Dragon form develops the spirit, the correctness of breath, the use of the waist and the twisting of stance. The Leopard form teaches the piercing jab and the use of speed and strength.

Tiet Sin Kuen (Iron Wire Fist). Tiet Sin Kuen is the most advanced form in the Hung Ga system. This form develops the twelve bridges and the correctness of breath. The form trains the body to open and close, float and sink.

Together, the Gung Gee Fook Fu Kuen, Fu Hok Seurng Ying Kuen, Ng Ying Kuen  and Tiet Sin Kuen form the “Four Pillars“, the foundation, of the Hung Ga system.

Arrow Hand (War Palms). Fundamental hand set that teaches the formal Hung Ga bow, basic stances and hand shapes.

Lau Ga

Weapon Forms

Monkey King Pole (Travelers Staff). The Monkey King pole is the first weapons form that is taught. The pole is a unique weapon as it is two-sided. The form stresses practice from both sides and multiple directions.

Ji Mo Seung Dao (Mother Son Double Swords). This form is named as such because both swords are used as a team – one following the other closely, as a son would follow his mother. This form is the foundation for the use of other double weapons. In other kung fu styles, these swords are called “Butterfly Knives” (Wu Dip Do).

Hang Yuet Darn Do (Moon Flowing Single Broadsword). This form develops strength, flexibility, evasiveness and precision. In Northern China, the Straight Sword and the Spear are the most commonly used weapons, while in the South, the Broadsword and the Pole are the most popular.

Ng Lung Ba Gwa Gwan (Fifth Brother Eight Trigram Pole)(Long Pole). This form was created by a famous spear master of the Sung Dynasty, the Fifth Brother of the Yeurng (Yang) Family. After losing a major battle, this General retired to a temple and became a monk where he adapted his spear techniques to be used with the pole. Due to its spear influence, the techniques in this form are delivered primarily with one end of the pole, making it a ‘single ended pole form.’ This form teaches moving in the eight different directions and lays the foundation for all long weapons.

Straight Sword


Kuan Do

Tiger Fork

%d bloggers like this: